Dotson, Cocke, Bowlin win in local county races

Calvert City- Kentucky’s senior U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell (R) easily bested his top challenger Matt Bevin in the Republican Primary race for the party’s nomination for the United States Senate seat Sen. McConnell currently hold. Three other candidates in that race Brad Copas, Chris Payne and Shawna Sterling drew minor support.

In the Democratic Primary for Kentucky’s U.S. Senate seat Alison Lundergan Grimes swept through her competitors taking nearly 80 percent of the vote. The other Democratic candidates for the nomination Burrel Charles Farnsley, Gregory Brent Leichty and Tom Recktenwald picked up only a smattering of the Democratic vote.

The most visible local race was the contest between Dr. Rick Cocke and Von Puckett for the Democratic nomination for the Marshall County 3rd District Commissioner’s seat. Cocke defeated Puckett 919 to 531 votes. Cocke will face Incumbent Misti Drew (R) who was unopposed in the Republican Primary race and will be the Republican nominee for the Marshall County 3rd District Commissioner’s seat.

There were only two other county primary races in Marshall County. Terry Anderson the incumbent 2nd District Commissioner was challenged by Johnny Bowlin in that race. Bolin ousted Anderson 1,126 to 611. No Republican candidate has filed for the post in the General Election so Bowlin will be unopposed in November.

In Benton long time Benton Mayor Steve Cary faced a challenge from Rita Dotson who is currently serving on the Benton City Council. Dotson pulled off the win by 522 votes to 439. The race is for the Democratic nomination for the post however there is no Republican or Independent filed for the office for Dotson to face in the November General Election.

Two other races were on the ballot. Republicans Danny Carroll and David Hoffman were vying for the Kentucky 2nd Senatorial District State Senate seat. That post is being vacated by Sen. Leeper who chose not to seek re-election.

Two Democratic candidates Wesley Seaton Bolin and Charles Kendall Hatchett are seeking the party’s nomination for U.S. Representative for the 1st Congressional District.  Bolin trailed Hatchett by nine percentage points with 28 of 35 counties having been counted. Kentucky’s 1st Congressional seat is currently held by U.S. Rep. Ed Whitfield (R) who is unopposed in the Republican Primary.

For results for Kentucky federal offices click here.

For unofficial Marshall County Election results click here.

To view election results for all Kentucky counties click here.